Albums of 2013

Hey friends, it’s January 18, 2014. Whoops? Nonetheless, I made a list, and here it is. I’ve also done “Best Articles of the Year.”
Ascending order this time:

1. Haim – Days Are Gone

At one point I was listening to this album in the car, with the window down in the not that warm Texas December, a pair of reflective but subtle sunglasses on, a leather jacket and the wind whipping my mousey brown shag cut around my face. I looked at myself in the car mirror, and I look like someone who’s favorite album of the year would be this one. And you know, it is. Everything else is complicated, this is all I want to listen to.

2. Kanye West – Yeezus

It feels hard to even talk about liking this album now – so much has been said about it all year, so much dissection and forwards and back and rehashing, so much KANYE. I guess the best thing to say is that I spent as much time talking and thinking about Yeezus this year as any non-professional, probably, and yet I listen to it and still it sounds completely new and interesting and insane and wild, every time.

3. Disclosure – Settle

The songs blur together a little bit. It’s very long. Every single second I’m listening to it, I’m thinking “I made the right choice, this is exactly what I want.”

4. Pusha T – My Name is My Name

I mean, the whole thing is fantastic. But “Nosetalgia” – the song, the video, listening to it while stalking around in the winter so it would keep me from feeling the cold – was probably the most important song that happened to me all year. I’m a DOCTAH.

5. Autre Ne Veut – Anxiety

Falsetto, skittering dance beats, synth strings and layered Kate Bush vocals. An overall aesthetic that could be described as “Prince-like, but more anxious.” Some things are made for me.

6. Daft Punk – Random Access Memories

7. Beyonce – BEYONCE

8. Arctic Monkeys – AM

9. Lorde – Pure Heroine

10. Chance the Rapper – Acid Rap

11. Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob

12. Sky Ferreria – Night Time, My Time

13. Justin Bieber – Journals

14. Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City

15. CHVRCHES – The Bones Of What You Believe

16. Earl Sweatshirt – Doris

17. The Weeknd – Kiss Land

18. Drake – Nothing Was the Same

19. James Blake – Overgrown

20. Kurt Vile – Wakin On A Pretty Daze

21. The-Dream – IV Play

22. San Fermin – San Fermin

23. Kacey Musgraves – Same Trailer, Different Park

24. My Bloody Valentine – M B V

25. The Thermals – Desperate Ground

26. Sleigh Bells – Bitter Rivals

27. Neko Case – The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You

28. Miley Cyrus – Bangerz

29. Katy Perry – Prism

30. Lady Gaga – ARTPOP

You know guys that was a pretty great year! Even as I was going through my own list, that I made, I kept being like “really, so low? Modern Vampires is great!” And for the worst album of my year, ARTPOP is totally listenable, and I actually quite like Prism! Help me with the Neko Case album, guys, I was so excited for it and people like it so much and it just, does nothing for me. Please advise.

Way to go, sounds of 2013!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Albums of 2013

  1. Pingback: Movies of 2013 | Neon Apologist

  2. Pingback: Podcasts of 2013 | Neon Apologist

  3. Pingback: Books of 2013 | Neon Apologist

Leave a Reply

