Best Songs of 2012

Hello! It’s early 2013 which means lots of best of lists. The master post, with lots of excuses, can be found here

Songs! This is a list of songs I really liked this year, mostly singles or songs that I knew about individually, rather than on full albums. Albums are albums songs are songs, yknow? Or something. Anyway these are fifteen songs that I fucking loved from this year and that I thought you might want to know about. All mp3s available upon request!

1. TNGHT – “Higher Ground”

The first time I listened to this I was like, okay, and then the second time I listened to it I was like “this is incredible, those horns, that BASS” and I have not been able to stop listening to it since, it is an addiction. This thing is a MONSTER.

2. Jessie Ware – “Wildest Moments”

More Jessie Ware all the time forever. This is this year’s best example of what Steph and I call “floazy” music, those big epic songs that sound like the have entire weather patterns in their backing tracks. This one is huge and big but also emotional and sad and incredibly happy but also incredibly heartbreaking, and I just want to live in it.

3. Kid Cudi – “Pursuit of Happiness” (Steve Aoki remix)

“Pursuit of Happiness” is a pretty good song. This remix is the BEST song. When the drums break and the synths come in and he put crowd noises in the synths and it just hits right like that, you can be sitting on your couch in pajamas and part of the biggest party in the world. Play this at your next party, play this in the car as the sun is rising, play this when you want to feel happy to be in the world.

4. Usher – “Climax”

This song just…has everything I like. Shivery synths, big keening vocals, that sort of creepy sort of dancey back beat, a nice spare production that suddenly crescendoes and pours over you. It is a song made of perfect, perfect parts, topped off by Usher maybe doing the best song of his career. It has everything I like, but also everyone likes this.

5. Icona Pop – “I Love It” (Feat. Charli XCX)

Starts hard and doesn’t stop. You want to yell along every single word, while jumping up and down and also screaming out of a car window. I DON’T CARE I LOVE IT.

6. Sky Ferreira – “Everything Is Embarrassing”

It’s just the prettiest. Smooth and warm, washing over you but with that drumbeat to keep it from getting boring, and her warm but sad vocals over on top. Also I guarantee once you know this song you will find that humming “could have been my everything, now everything’s embarrassing” to yourself gets you through a lot of terrible times.

6. Miguel – “Adorn”

I didn’t get to Miguel’s album in 2012, but I’m fairly certain I’m going to love it based on this perfect three minutes. Like a bouncier, more melodic Prince, like The-Dream but smoother and funner and clearer. I love the little dripping sounds in this song, and the repeated backing vocal, all mushed up and mumbled. I love the rhythm, the way it makes your hips bump no matter what you’re doing, and the trills that don’t so show offy – it sounds like Miguel is just so excited he just, he can’t contain it. And I just love the sentiment – let my love, let my love adorn you.

7. Chairlift – “I Belong In Your Arms”

If you don’t like this song, you probably don’t have ears and also have never loved anyone or anything in your life.

8. Kitty Pryde – “Okay Cupid”

Kitty Pryde is definitely not for everyone, but she is definitely for me. I just find her sort of charming and funny and fun, and I like what she does and I want her to do well. She kind of reminds me of one of my campers, if my campers were more fucked up and also were rappers. I love the hazy vibe of this song, I love the terrible girl chorus, I love the part where she sings Frank Ocean. What she thinks is funny I also think is funny, I like the things she likes, even her name. I have always had more affection than I really should for teenagers and their overemotional poor decision making lives, and that is what this song is and its adorable.

9. Young Galaxy – “Youth is Wasted On the Young”

The most musically self-referential indie rock song since “Losing My Edge,” but that still doesnt mean I don’t want “I wouldn’t mind dying at all/If it weren’t for the songs I’d miss,” written all over my trapper keeper/facebook/Chucks/skin/life.

10. Disclosure – “Latch”

I know nothing about this song, or this band, just that when that falsetto sample starts in the back its all I want in the world, forever and ever, and that they made it just for me.

11. Stockholm Syndrome – “Pretty Girl”

My friend Caroline and I made a playlist we would listen to while getting dressed and doing shots in our rooms that we labelled “dirty party.” This song is basically the best possible version of that.

12. Joey Bada$$ – “World Domination”

I dunno, pretty much the most charming rap song I heard this year.

13. Cheryl Cole – “Call My Name”

It turns out I only really like the buildup and the hook on this song, the “how’d you think I feel” but I really like that part. Also I put this performance in instead of the official video because SWAN DIVE.

14. Parlovr – “You Only Want It ‘Cause You’re Lonely”

Maybe you want some mopey indie rock – I mean, that song title, really – but maybe you want the best mopey indie rock song, the one with a really good chorus and a nice big drum line and some adorable backing vocals? You totally do.

15. Xylos – “Summmerlong”

It’s almost clinically impossible to listen to this song when it is no longer summer. But even during summer, it is sad and wistful and lonely, and pretty and reminds you that time is passing but also that is ok, because time is passing listening to this song and this song is wonderful.

Aw hell, I miscounted. That is 15 songs, but I have one more! Bonus extra here is one more awesome song.

Karneef – “We Found Money”

This entry was posted in Meaningless Rankings, Songs About Buildings and Food, video killing the radio star and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Songs of 2012

  1. Pingback: End of the year | Neon Apologist

  2. Steph says:

    THIS IS EVERYTHING I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THANK YOU I LOVE YOU I LOVE THIS.

Leave a Reply

